PM's Council on Climate Change

Constituted on 6th June 2008, a committee chaired by the Prime Minister called Prime Minister's Council on Climate Change will coordinate national action for assessment, adaptation and mitigation of climate change.
The composition of the Prime Minister's Council on Climate Change is as follows.
Chairperson   1)       Prime Minister
Members       2)      External Affairs Minister
                    3)      Finance Minister
                    4)      Minister of Environment and Forests
                    5)      Minister of Agriculture
                    6)     Minister of Water Resources
                    7)     Minister of Science and Technology
                    8)     Minister of New and Renewable Energy
                    9)     Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
                  10)      National Security Advisor
                  11)      Dr. C. Rangarajan, Chairman, Economic Advisory  
                  12)      Shri Ratan Tata, Chairman, Investment Commission
                  13)      Shri V. Krishnamurthy, Chairman, National
                          Manufacturing Competitive Council
                  14)       Dr. R. Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Advisor to PM
                  15)       Dr. R K Pachauri, Chairperson, TERI
                  16)      Dr. Prodipto Ghosh
                  17)      Dr. Nitin Desai
                  18)      Dr. Sunita Narain
                  19)      Shri Chandrashekhar Dasgupta
                  20)      Mr. Ajay Mathur, Chairman, Bureau of Energy
                  21)      Dr. Jyoti Parekh, Director, IRADe
                  22)      Mr. Raj Chengappa
                  23)      Dr. R Ramachandran
                  24)      Foreign Secretary
                  25)      Secretary, M/O Environment and Forests
                  26)      Principal Secretary to PM                  –  Convenor. 
         The Chairman may invite any other Minister/ Officer/Experts to any meeting of the Committee depending upon the context of the meeting.
         The Committee would focus on the following tasks:
a)     Evolve a coordinated response to issues relating to climate change at the national level ;
b)     Provide oversight for formulation of action plans in the area of assessment, adaptation and mitigation of climate change;
c)     Periodically monitor key policy decisions. 
The committee would be serviced by the Prime Minister's Office, which
may obtain assistance as required from any Ministry/ Department/
Agency of Government. Specifically, the Ministry of Environment and
Forests will assist PMO in facilitating the work of this Committee.