Press Releases[Back]

February 6, 2004

Dissolution of the Thirteenth Lok Sabha

The Prime Minister, Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee had called on the President at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 27 January 2004 and conveyed the advice of the Cabinet to the President to dissolve the Thirteenth Lok Sabha on 6 February 2004, after completing the constitutional requirements relating to the passing of votes on account (Railways and General) 2004-2005 and the Finance Bill, 2004 and other exigencies of Government Business by 5 February 2004.

The Prime Minister met the President on 5 February 2004 and apprised him of the proceedings in the Parliament.

As necessary financial and other business have since been completed by the Parliament, the President has now accepted the recommendation and in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by sub-clause (b) of clause (2) of article 85 of the Constitution of India has signed an Order to-day dissolving the Thirteenth Lok Sabha with immediate effect.